The world of aviation standards – an overview - igus Blog

The world of aviation standards – an overview

Florian Schiller | 4. October 2021

Aviation has fascinated people for many decades and has developed rapidly during this time. Keywords here include flying at supersonic speeds, synthetic fuel and autonomous flight. However, there is one crucial guiding principle that defines the industry across all issues and times: passenger safety.

Since passenger safety is always the top priority when flying, a number of regulations have been formulated in aviation to ensure this. It is important to maintain an overview of the multitude of certificates, standards or documentation requirements.

Therefore, in this blog I would like to categorise and summarise the most important certificates, regulations and standards:

  1. Certificate
    • STC (Supplemental Type Certificates)
    • RTCA DO 160G
    • Fire protection certificates
      • FAR 25.853 / JAR 25.853 / CS 25.853
      • UL 94
      • RTCA DO160 -26
  2. Documentation
    • CoC (Certificate of Conformity)
    • Certificate of Compliance with the Directive 2.1
    • Factory certification 2.2
    • Acceptance test certificate 3.1
    • ATR (Acceptance Test Report)
    • EMPB (Initial Sample Inspection Report)
    • FAI (First Article Inspection)
    • EASA Form 1
  3. Standards
    • DIN ISO EN 9100
    • DIN ISO EN 9102
    • DIN ISO EN 10204
  4. OEM regulations
    • AITM (Airbus Industrial Test Method)
    • BSS (Boeing Safety Standard)
  5. Institutions
    • FAA (Federal Aviation Administration)
    • EASA (European Union Aviation Safety Agency)

In one of the next blogs, I would like to specify what is described here and show in which area igus® already fulfils certificates and standards.

Feel free to write in the comments if you are missing any important standards, documents, certificates or other regulations.

You already voted!
You are also welcome to comment on the article - we look forward to your opinion!